top of page
Search
  • Melissa

My Top 10 Favourite Books Of 2018

I read 51 books in 2018 and I found many new authors, books and series that I love. I narrowed it down to my top 10 favourite books (though I did add series) that I read in 2018.


This book is about a man, Satoru, and his cat, Nana, who go on a road trip, visiting three of Satoru's friends from his youth but he won't say why. This book is about love, friendship and the bond between humans and animals. Its heartwarming, heartbreaking and an incredible book. I rated this book 5 stars.


 

The Shatter Me series (I'm counting the whole series) Synopsis: A fragile teenage girl is kept captive. Locked in a cell by The Reestablishment, a harsh dictatorship in charge of a crumbling world. But Juliette is no ordinary teenager, one touch from her can kill. The Reestablishment plan to use her as a weapon. But Juliette has other plans. After a lifetime without freedom, she's finally discovered the strength to fight back, and to find a future with the one person she thought she lost forever.

I found a new favourite author and series! I love this series a lot. It is gripping, great character development and the writing style is unique and makes you want to read on. I rated each book 5 stars and the series overall 5 stars. (the series hasn't ended, new books are coming out.)


 

Of course I had to add Harry Potter to this list because I'm obsessed with it! I don't think I need to explain the story but I rated it 5 stars.


 




The books I've read so far in the Throne Of Glass series. This series is about Celaena Sardothien, an 18-year-old assassin in the Kingdom of Adarlan. After being imprisoned for a year by the King, she accepts his son's offer to compete with other assassins and thieves for a chance to serve as the King's champion, after four years of which, she would be granted freedom.

I've read Throne Of Glass, Crown Of Midnight, Heir Of Fire and Queen Of Shadows and I am obsessed with this series. I found a new favourite author and series. Queen Of Shadows was my favourite so far and I plan on finishing this series this year. This series is very popular and if you haven't read it already I recommend you read it! I rated all the books 5 stars.


 

The books I read in the Mortal Instruments series. At a nightclub with her friend, Simon, Clary is the only person who sees Jace Wayland killing a man, who he claims is a demon. This series is about Shadowhunters and Downworlders.

I read City Of Bones and City Of Ashes and loved them! It's gripping and a great fantasy read!I found a new favourite author and series! I have read several more books in the Shadowhunter series in 2019! I rated City Of Bones and City Of Ashes 5 stars.


 


This is a beautiful story of one dog's search for his purpose over the course of several lives. A Dog's Purpose touches on the universal search for an answer to life's most basic question: why are we here?

This book is heartwarming, emotional and at some parts hilarious. I loved seeing from Bailey's perspective and seeing the unbreakable bond between humans and dogs. I rated this book 5 stars.


 


A Court Of Thorns and Roses is about Feyre who kills a wolf and learns that killing a creature comes at a price. She is imprisoned in an enchanted court in her enemy's kingdom. Feyre is free to roam but forbidden to escape, As Fayre's feelings for her captor, Tamlin, begin to burn through every warning she's been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows.

I love this book and plan to read the other two books in the trilogy this year. I rated this book 5 stars.


 

Synopsis: When Lucas rescues his puppy Bella he knew his life would change forever. But then Bella is picked up by animal control and Lucas makes the ultimate sacrifice to send her away. Lucas hasn't understood Bella's feelings though. There might be hundreds of miles separating them but Bella wants her master and she is coming to find him.

This book shows how much dogs can love their owners and it is heartwarming and emotional. I love this book. I rated this book 5 stars.


 


I'm sorry about the photo, I have the book on kindle instead of a physical book so the picture isn't as good. :)

Synopsis: It’s 2002, a year after 9/11. It’s an extremely turbulent time politically, but especially so for someone like Shirin, a sixteen-year-old Muslim girl who’s tired of being stereotyped. Shirin is never surprised by how horrible people can be. She’s tired of the rude stares, the degrading comments—even the physical violence—she endures as a result of her race, her religion, and the hijab she wears every day. So she’s built up protective walls and refuses to let anyone close enough to hurt her. Instead, she drowns her frustrations in music and spends her afternoons break-dancing with her brother.But then she meets Ocean James. He’s the first person in forever who really seems to want to get to know Shirin. It terrifies her—they seem to come from two irreconcilable worlds—and Shirin has had her guard up for so long that she’s not sure she’ll ever be able to let it down.

I love this book. It has an important message and story but it really upsets me that events in this book were based off of Tahereh's experiences at high school. I love the romance and I think it was beautifully told. I rated this book 5 stars.


 

Sorry for the photo, I read this book on kindle too. :)

Synopsis: Jude was seven when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King. To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences. As Jude becomes more deeply embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, she discovers her own capacity for trickery and bloodshed. But as betrayal threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.

This book was a great fantasy read and I really enjoyed it. I can't wait to read The Wicked King! I rated this book 5 stars.


 

That was my top 10 favourite books of 2018! As you probably guessed... I love animals and fantasy :)


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page